Album Review: Made in the AM

BY: Marla Newsom

“Made in the AM” or Made After Malik (which some fans were quick to speculate) is One Direction’s most anticipated album to date since their 5th member, Zayn Malik left the band at the end of March while on their On The Road Again tour. Since then fans have been waiting for an album that proves Harry Styles, Louis Tomlinson, Liam Payne and Niall Horan can continue their success as a four person group.

Their new album is far different from anything we have heard from them before. Their first two singles “Drag Me Down” and “Perfect” foreshadow an album that would sell over 600,000 units in the first week. Rolling Stone magazine gives it four stars and calls it a “thanks for the memories” album before their well-earned break coming in 2016. Rolling Stone also says the new album has a Fleetwood Mac feeling along with vibes from others such as Verve, Harry Nilsson, and Christine McVie. This album was made purely of what they wanted to put out rather than what they needed to sound good in a stadium packed with 20,000 fans.

Their opening song, “Hey Angel” which Styles deemed their new “Clouds” because of its tone is one of the best songs they’ve released. Styles seemed to think so as well considering he posted lyrics of the song three times before the album was released. You can’t help but sing along and feel the passion in Style’s voice. Deciding to open with this song gives you the feeling that what lies ahead on the album is sure to please and show us a musical side to One Direction we have never heard before.

 

“Hey angel

Tell me, do you ever try

To come to the other side?

Hey angel

Tell me, do you ever cry

When we waste away our lives?”

 

My personal favorite would be track number 10 called “What a Feeling.” This song gives you a feel-good feeling the second you hear the first note. This is one of the more relaxed songs on the album and one that Tomlinson says has a different “flavor” than other songs they have released. The song has a strong 80’s feel to it that sounds like something The Bee Gees or Hall & Oates would create. This song has a type of groove that you can enjoy best on a long drive cruising with the windows down and a couple friends in the car.

 

“What a feeling to be right here beside you now

Holding you in my arms

When the air ran out and we both started running wild

The sky fell down

But you’ve got stars in your eyes

And I’ve got something missing tonight

What a feeling to be a king beside you, somehow

I wish I could be there now”

 

Before the release of “Made in the Am” Payne decided to post a quick 8 second video on Twitter of the song Olivia. Within 8 seconds, I was texting my cousin about how jealous I was that One Direction wrote a song about her. The second I heard the full song I was ready to sign all the documents needed to change my name. What I specifically like about this song is that Styles says that Olivia doesn’t specifically have to be a person. Olivia can represent an object, a place, or just something that makes you feel good. Towards the end of the song, there’s this almost “Willy Wonka- World of Pure Imagination” feel to it that I absolutely love. The lyrics in that bit are probably one of my favorite ever, but I think you should check it out for yourself.

 

“I live for you, I long for you, Olivia

I’ve been idolizing the light in your eyes, Olivia

I live for you, I long for you, Olivia

Don’t let me go”

 

One of their slower songs is “If I could Fly.” This song is the ultimate “I love you” type of song. It’s so simple and you can tell it was written because the boys genuinely wanted to make this type of song for themselves and for the fans rather than previous songs they’ve released for the pure purpose to sound good in a stadium. One specific line at the end consisted of all the boys singing one line each, and it falls together so well.

“For your eyes only, I’ll show you my heart

For when you’re lonely and forget who you are

I’m missing half of me when we’re apart

Now you know me, for your eyes only”

 

The last song to discuss is History. Horan says that it’s a thank you song to the fans, to all the people who helped on tour, and to everyone who has been there with them for the last five years and that’s why it’s one of the best songs they’ve ever done. The song explains everything we have been through together. The song isn’t a goodbye song but it’s a thank you and see you later song. I can honestly say before their well-earned break, One Direction has proved to everyone that losing a member isn’t a loss, but instead, something that has only made them stronger.

 

“You and me got a whole lot of history

We could be the greatest thing that the world has ever seen

You and me got a whole lot of history

So don’t let it go, we can make some more, we can live forever”

Leave a Reply

