Music Review

By Eric Marin

Matchbox Twenty’s latest album, “North”, is making noise on the billboard charts. The album, which was released in early September by Atlantic Records, is the first one in 10 years from the group. The standout single on the album, “She’s So Mean”, is an upbeat and catchy song about dating girls with attitudes. Most of the album is like this or grittier, however, the record “I Will” is an acoustic song that touches a more romantic nerve. The album is very well written and only adds to the already legendary band’s name.

Also, on the Billboard Top 200, is debut album by rapper 2 Chainz, “Based on a T.R.U. Story.” Following the success of his underground release, “T.R.U. Religion”, 2 Chainz has taken the industry over. From songs with G.O.O.D Music label mate, Kanye West, to being featured on a Justin Beiber single, he is on everyone’s radar. The “trap rapper” isn’t known for his lyrics by far but somehow finds a way to grab the attention of listeners. The album is full of features including, Drake, Lil Wayne and even hip-hop legend Scarface. However, even with all of these appearances by other established artists, the album fails to live up to the hype that surrounded him before it dropped.

Trey Songz released a new album this past August entitled “Chapter V”. As always, the Virginia singer/rapper never disappoints. His hit single, “Heart Attack”, is an emotional song about the woes of breaking up. With little features on the album, Songz shows why he is one the most talented stars in the R&B game today. He has his usual, risqué tracks such as “Panty Wetter” and “Dive In”, along with some records where he shows off his rapping skills. On the song, “Hail Mary”, featuring Young Jeezy and Lil Wayne, he provides soothing vocals in comparison with the two hip-hop heavyweights hard knock lyrics. However, for a genuine R&B song, “Simply Amazing” is just that, amazing. 

Hip-Hop super-group Slaughterhouse drops their first album under the new-look Shady Records label entitled, “Welcome to: Our House”. It is completely different from every other Hip-hop album out at the moment. The group is comprised of emcees Joe Budden, Joell Ortiz, Royce Da 5’9, and Crooked I. All four rappers are from different parts of the country and bring something unique to each song. While the styles are not the same, they all go bar-for-bar with each other as if in competition. For fans who are familiar with the group and its members, “Welcome to: Our House” is a little more upbeat than previous projects. However, the a few days before the album dropped, the group put out an underground mixtape dubbed “On the House”. This project is more “Slaughterhouse-like” and is arguably better than the album itself.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s