What is your passion?

By: JAMES O’HAGAN

Staff Writer

Work, we all have to do it. But, no one ever said you couldn’t do what you are passionate about. You have people out there that are getting paid millions of dollars per year to do what they love. However, there are sacrifices that have to be made. It’s never easy, whether it’s endless hours training to be the best point guard in the league, working on your stage presence, or just learning salesmanship. No matter what your passion is, you will sacrifice something. Those sacrifices will only be worth the passion you have for whatever you want to do in life. 

If you don’t already know, I’m James, and currently, I’m going to school full time, running my own business, and doing what I’m passionate about. Now, my passion is the MMA industry, not fighting, or training, but the broadcast and public relations focus. I commentate for one of largest promotions in the tri state area, Cage Fury Fighting Championships, I don’t mention this information to brag about it, I mention it because I’m proud of my accomplishments. We all should have that pride sealed into our souls. It’s important.

My grandfather and father have worked in the construction business since before I was born, but they never forced me to pick up the trade, maybe, because they didn’t believe that’s what I should do. I’m thirty five years old, turning thirty six in August, and I can say that 2011 has been the most fulfilling year of my life, because I was able to break through the barriers and become whole heartedly involved in what I’m passionate about.  Some might believe that working in what you’re passionate about is a dream. But, you have to ignore that and do what you feel is right for you. That’s the key, what’s right for you. When you are young, you take advice from your parents, teachers, and other adults you might admire and trust. Please don’t assume that I’m saying that they are wrong. The fact is they can give you better advice through their life experiences. Take both and use them as a guideline to find yourself part of a career that you are passionate about.

Finding your passion in life and molding it into a career would have been hard twenty or thirty years ago. But, now it’s more achievable then you think. Whether starting your own business or putting your heart and soul into your writing, you are able to shape it into a career. Understand that if it’s your passion, you won’t see it as work. Someone asked me what I do for fun; I told them my business is my fun. I can be myself, and put everything into it without breaking a sweat cause I know my business inside and out. Through the years I’ve work so many jobs, but none of them have been as fulfilling as this one. 

When you find your passion and take that leap of faith and it works out, it’s all the sweeter. Trust me there will be times you want to give up, being happy and passionate is the goal, but, the journey can sometimes be a struggle, so keep that in mind and you will reach your goals. Even if you fail the first time never get discouraged because remember, they aren’t failures, they’re just learning experiences.

 


 

Leave a Reply

