Virtual Courage

By GENNESIS CARRION

Staff Writer

There’s this cute girl in your class and you want to get to know her better. What do you do? Go up to her and ask for her number? No! Instead, you find her online and request her as a friend. As silly as that sounds, that’s the way most social networking happens these days.  Approaching someone through websites such as Facebook or MySpace takes away the fear, nervousness, and risk of public rejection usually associated with in person encounters. It gives you “virtual courage”.

Elizabeth Ramos, a student at CCC, stated, “I once had this boy who would send me a message trying to hang out with me every day!  He continued this for a month straight before he got the picture.”

Annalyse Torres, also a CCC student stated, “Ever since I changed my relationship status from “in a relationship” to “single, that’s when I started getting all these messages, from both guys I knew and ones I didn’t know. Boys definitely get bold online”.

But girls aren’t the only victims prone to this sudden assertiveness from the opposite sex through the web. Guys get hit as well.

“I’ve had girls message me (through Facebook and MySpace), trying to get with me and asking me when we’re going to hang out. They were basically throwing themselves at me and I didn’t even know them,” stated CCC student Mario Ruiz.

However, online “boo-macking” (flirting), isn’t the only aspect where virtual courage comes to play. Drama is a constant factor in the social networking world.

“I can know who doesn’t like who just by logging into my Facebook,” commented CCC student Ameena Jones, “People constantly put all their business out there for everyone to see.”

Recently, there is a new player that has joined the social networking game and has driven virtual courage to its highest peak. I’m talking of Formspring.  Formspring allows someone to ask any questions to anybody they want and be completely anonymous.

“People have definitely been attacking me through my Formspring,” stated CCC student Daymar Harper, “They accuse me of doing stuff I haven’t done and try to know all the details of my personal life. It’s crazy.”

Nicole Carlo, a student at CCC, commented, “The same people asking these questions online, would more than likely never ask these same questions to our faces. But now that they have a way to ask these things without their identity being known, of course they’re going to use it.”

Even though Formspring seems to create a great amount of drama, it still serves as a form to socialize more with people you know or want to meet. Also, it’s the newest fad so it has perked up everyone’s curiosity to see what it’s all about.

As long as websites such as Myspace, Facebook, and Formspring exist, virtual courage will stick around as well. For a final thought, anyone can be brave hiding behind a computer; being brave in person, that’s when it counts.

Leave a Reply

