Live your life with no regrets

By DIANA DE HARO

Staff Writer

Have you ever wished you had done something but you never did? I know I have.  Life is just too short to live with regrets. Every day is all about making choices, whether it is something that will affect you right away or in the long run. It can be as simple as “should I eat a salad or a cheese steak” or as complicated as,  “do I want to go to college in state or ten hours away?”

When I’m making decisions I always say to myself, “if I don’t go, am I going to regret it?” I never want to skip out on a night out with my friends just in case something crazy or funny happens. It’s no fun listening to them talk about something hilarious that happened and all I can do is imagine it. The important thing to keep in mind is you.

One bad choice can steer your life in a route you never imagined. Drinking and driving is a huge life changing decision that can change within seconds. No one ever thinks it can happen to him or her until it’s too late. That’s when all your “what ifs” come to mind. It can get pretty scary. One minute everyone is laughing and having a great time. The next thing you know you’re at the hospital waiting to see if your friend made it. It’s just not worth it.

On a lighter note some decisions you make can turn out to be the best thing you ever did. Vicky Ruiz, a student a Cumberland County College, said “Going to a community college before going to a four year school was the best thing I could have done. It has turned out to be so much cheaper for me.”  On the other hand there are people who are fortunate enough to go straight to a four-year college with no trouble at all.

It’s funny how sometimes you wish something had turned out differently. If you could, you would turn back time and make things how you want. Then one day you realize that everything happens for a reason and you are actually happy with how things turned out.

Life is one decision after another. It’s up to you if you want to live life asking yourself “what if?” So the next time you’re thinking of making a decision make sure you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

